The Sick Pleasure of Toying

Having power over another is the root of evil

Having power over another is the root of evil

10°  As I was leaving my house I noticed our cat had caught a mouse. He was doing that cat thing of ‘toying’ with the mouse. Not trying to kill it, but experimenting with it. What happens if I tap it on its head? What happens if I pick it up with my mouth? What happens if I move it over here? I waited for him to kill it so I could dispose of it, but he was enjoying his position of power over the mouse in distress.

Humans share this trait with cats. When a person has power over another there is an opportunity to ‘toy’ with the those who have little or no power.

America was founded on the idea that everyone was created equal. This prevents the powerful from the temptation to toy with the weak. Many want that to change. It was recently reported in Time that Congress now consists of a majority of millionaires. Watch closely and you can tell which ones like toying with the less powerful.

America was not founded to let the powerful put the poor and powerless in further distress.

Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!

Leave a Reply

