Photography at 70 MPH

Shooting and driving, not smart

Shooting and driving, not smart

269°  Photography requires more patience than I have, and more wisdom. Yesterday I was driving to Carson City, Nevada in an off and on rain/snow mix. I was running late, but I saw several interesting shots as I was driving. Rather than stopping I put down the window and took the shot at 70 mph.

It doesn’t take a genius to know that is not safe, but I’m not known for my intellect. The problem is that most shots from a moving car are wasted, especially in cloudy scenes with rain or snow in the air. The combination of speed, low light, and snow or rain will make the image less sharp.

In the future, I need to build in the time to stop and take a good picture.

Leave a Reply

